Boko Haram raped, beat us – Abducted girls

image

He soon began to threaten me with a knife to have sex with him
and when I refused, he brought out his gun, warning that he would
kill me if I shouted.

“Then he began to rape me every night … I had never had sex
before; it was very painful and I cried bitterly because I was
bleeding afterwards.”

These were the words of a 15-year-old girl, who was abducted by
Boko Haram and forcibly married to one of its commanders in a
camp in the Sambisa Forest, Borno State.

The girl, according to a report by Human Rights Watch, was
abducted in 2013 but she escaped after four weeks in captivity.
The teenager is one of the five girls that personally recounted their
ordeals in the publication which was made public on Monday. She
said that after her marriage to the commander who was in his
early 30s, she was ordered to live with him in cave.

The experiences of three others who suffered sexual violence
were narrated by witnesses in the 63-page HRW report titled,
Those Terrible Weeks in Their Camp: Boko Haram Violence against
Women and Girls in North-East Nigeria.’

Source: punch.ng

Leave a comment